RMSC Association

Roper Mountain Science Center (RMSC) is the result of a thriving unique public-private, long-standing partnership of public ownership by Greenville County Schools and corporate and private donations through RMSC Association, its supporting nonprofit 501©3 organization.

Since 1983, Roper Mountain Science Center Association has operated with its mission to support the long-term sustainability of RMSC through fundraising, advocacy and volunteering. Managed by a Board of Directors, the RMSC Association assists with programs and special events, advocates for the Science Center and is proud to have raised millions of dollars toward the Center’s buildings and programs.

Over the last 38 years, RMSC Association has worked jointly with corporate partners, community foundations, generous families and individual donors to provide support and funding for educational and public programming, community events, new educational facilities and exciting exhibits at RMSC. RMSC Association has played a vital role in the future of our young people by giving them education, experiences and skills for their careers.

The members of the Board of Directors, which comprise the Association, are chosen for their desire to fulfill the vision of RMSCA, to raise funds and generate support for RMSC, to enhance educational opportunities and awareness of the sciences, to benefit the students, teachers, families, and communities served. Board members serve on a volunteer basis and are elected for three-year terms. The Board meets monthly to discuss RMSC programs, make decisions on fundraising initiatives and plan Association activities and events.

RMSC Board Members
President: Tommie Reece
Vice President: Galen Burdeshaw
Secretary: Marisa Trzemzalski
Treasurer: Caroline Stewart

Deonn Baker
Galen Burdeshaw
Cindy Crick
Chris Ericksen
Chandler Greer
Catherine James
Les Knight
David Laursen
Shavada Lee
Shaun Malin
Kim Mazur
Carrie Norell
Tommie Reece
Matt Russo
Walker Smith
Caroline Stewart
Marisa Trzemzalski
Benjamin Vaughn
Madison Wilson

Ex-Officio Directors – Representatives
GCS Executive Director for Academic Innovation and Technology: Charlotte McDavid
GCSB Liaison: Chuck Saylors
Medical Society: Jeff Lawson
RMSC Director: Michael Weeks

For more information about RMSC Association, please email 355association@greenville.k12.sc.us